Wuthering Heights & Maine Morning Mitts

“Wuthering Heights”
Emily Brontë
starring
Charlotte Riley

I began a {gift} project out of “The Knitter’s Book of Yarn” by Clara Parkes.  Its the Single-Ply Project #1 Maine Morning Mitts.  Its a simple rib pattern [K2, P1] with right&left increases [M1R &M1L].  One of my favorite things to do is watch classic films and novels made into films as I sit down to knit.  Not only does it make the hour go quicker, but I find most of my inspiration in costume design– in awe of vibrant color palettes & intricate romantic attire, foreign places, and fancy accents.

I tend to take screen captures as I sit and watch films off of my computer.  I presume that film is a lot about perfect stills.  Every take must be intentional… and here, I have captured my favorite stills in Wuthering Heights {part 1}– mostly drawn to the colors, wardrobe, and hairstyles of Catherine Earnshaw {Charlotte Riley}.  Lime greens and Red-Orange colors always gets me [like in “Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves” and “A Knights Tale“], along with a bewildering amount of cover buttons and ruffles.

One of my favorite wardrobe pieces, is the peplum coat that Catherine is wearing along with the scarves that are draping her neck.  I had a very “that was perfect” moment that other Martha Stewart-like people would probably have the same feeling as I when seeing interior design & decor… and that was the pine garland over the fireplace scene with Heathcliff.

<< v. >>

Leave a Reply

