/SHärˈtro͞oz/

{ /SHärˈtro͞oz/ }

define :  is a color halfway between yellow and green that was named because of its resemblance to the green color of one of the French liquers called green chartreuse, introduced in 1764.

… Chartreuse + pink, is by far one of my favorite color combinations.  So when I saw these placemats [ + via Design Sponge ], my eyes instantly drew attention to the chartreuse and pink.  I love that Evie’s favorite color is pink (hot, neon, blush…every shade of pink)… because whenever we go to the park, her attire with the landscape just “POP!”  This is a chartreuse crochet headband with pink buttons that I made for Evie, which rings true to my favorite color duo.

Vibrance is my eye~candy, and I sure love working with color when I design.  My secret influence (secret unleashed) in how to work with color & patterns, is that I take my notes from Isaac Mizrahi, Marc Jacobs, and Jenna Lyons (J.Crew).  There’s a lot about their color concepts + styling, that I feel trickled down to my creative sense.

Though, I take my fashion color notes from the three above, I do find my color inspiration in pure nature.  There isn’t a single thing in nature that I would say is a horrendous color combination– where I whisper to myself, “… why would that flower want to be that yellow.”  Everywhere I look, I gasp, and say, “God, is the most amazing artist!”  No artificial dye’s or bleaching in his creation.

+ Anthropologie
+ Design Sponge

<< v . >>

Leave a Reply

